About Our Programs

The Howard University School of Communications (SOC) is focused on digital communication and preparation of students for work in a multimedia environment. In 2013, SOC implemented its reorganization in line with Howard’s Presidential Commission on Academic Renewal (PCAR) and the Committee on the Future of the School. We reorganized into two undergraduate departments, Media, Journalism and Film (MJF), which includes a MFA graduate film program; and Communication Studies (COMM).

We also have two doctoral graduate programs: Communication, Culture and Media Studies (CCMS) and Communication Sciences and Disorders (COSD), which includes a Master of Science degree. The MJFC and Communication Studies (COMM) undergraduate programs offer bachelor's degrees in our major concentrations, journalism and online media, audio and TV production, public relations, advertising, and media management.


Communication Studies

Formerly Department of Strategic, Legal and Management Communication (SLMC), COMM majors develop strong critical reasoning, writing and case development, verbal and nonverbal communication, problem-solving, research design and implementation.

Learn More


Graduate Programs